imagesasebo.blogg.se

Dac for roon and hqplayer
Dac for roon and hqplayer




dac for roon and hqplayer
  1. #DAC FOR ROON AND HQPLAYER FULL#
  2. #DAC FOR ROON AND HQPLAYER WINDOWS 10#
  3. #DAC FOR ROON AND HQPLAYER SOFTWARE#

It builds on everything from that last paragraph. I've tried several players - Gentoo, PiCorePlayer, RoPieee (and XL), and Jussi's proprietary HQP NAA image. Decays and low level harmonics avail themselves and the recording "space" is more easily construed. Excellent width and depth that truly felt like my room is larger than it is. Moved to a Pi4, no hat, still generic cable - MUCH better. But you could hear the potential in this arrangement.

dac for roon and hqplayer

Actual glitches can be heard within the music. Pulled that box out of my audio room and replaced it with a Pi3, no hat - better, but the issues of a Pi3 using both Ethernet at high-ish rates (PCM 768 can really pump some bits) and USB is a non-starter. But it still sounded a bit flat and it lacked excitement, for lack of a better descriptor. Running W10 or Ubuntu, plugged into a DF Ares II DAC via USB (generic cable) - definitely an improvement on my previous round of Pi3 or Sonore into Yggy - less fatiguing, better instrument separation and imaging felt more precise. That led me to a few trials:ĭirect out of a dedicated HQPlayer PC. Liked it so much I tried a Denafrips DAC so I could really push the sample rates and DSD rates up to see what I liked best. I love the damn things, and generally run RoPieeeXL for that task.īut this year I started to play with HQ Player and a Benchmark DAC.

#DAC FOR ROON AND HQPLAYER FULL#

I abandoned those a few years back and stuck to discs and physical transports which I found surprisingly good.Īnd full disclosure: I run 3 Pi's in my house outside of my audio room, each for a different zone coming off Roon. Even the Sonore MR sounded etched and obviously. I was never "happy" with a Pi + Hat into a DAC when I was using a Pi3 and just Roon. And I've done some similar playing around lately as well, and prior to my recent tinkering, had some run-ins with HiFi-Berry Pi's and a Sonore MicroRendu plugged into an Yggy via USB. The Pi things are inexpensive enough that I can just try them and find out what happens.Ĭlick to expand.Heck yea. I'm curious if separating the DACs from the laptop will improve things and be convenient. No special audiophile power supply for the hub.

#DAC FOR ROON AND HQPLAYER WINDOWS 10#

My current setup is using a Windows 10 laptop with a powered USB 3 hub and plugging in one or more USB DACs in the hub.

#DAC FOR ROON AND HQPLAYER SOFTWARE#

How well with the streamer get along with JRiver and Foobar and other software I use? May try HQPlayer and their setup. Once they're set up I can experiment and find out how well a streamer device like that fits in my system and the way I like to do things. Having one of the Pi devices have a touch screen to play with might be fun. I'm still debating whether to add a 7" Pi touch screen to the stock Pi 4 setup, like what Archimago has done. Use the other as a stock PI 4 to experiment with to play with different software and to use with USB DACs. But is its USB clean enough to compete against the better USB add-on and devices? The PI4 has better USB that doesn't have those obvious errors. Even the skeptics recognize that actual errors or dropouts are audible. The problem with the PI3 was that the USB was bad enough that it is possible to get it to cause actual errors in the USB connected audio. It matters for the digital to digital conversion for SPDIF and I2S. It matters with the digital to digital conversion for USB audio. The quality of digital to digital conversion matters. Right at the beginning he says that if you don't believe noise below the noise floor is audible then this isn't for you.

dac for roon and hqplayer

Here's a video of some different digital to digital converters.

dac for roon and hqplayer

These are products for people who have gear that is actually clean enough and transparent enough to hear things below the noise floor. The digital to digital converters that attempt to clean up the digital signal and get that digital noise well below the noise floor aren't for you. It is possible to hear effects of digital noise and jitter that are below the SNR of your system.






Dac for roon and hqplayer